Verso Skincare Deep Cleanse 150 mL clear plastic bottle with pump
Good choice for Acne
What Makes This Different

Most BHA cleansers at the boutique price tier focus on the headline salicylic acid and let the supporting cast be generic. This one runs salicylic acid alongside a deliberately layered tolerability infrastructure — niacinamide for soothing and sebum regulation, turmeric for anti-inflammatory support, purslane for additional calming and zinc PCA for secondary oil control — all on a sulfate-free, fragrance-free surfactant base. The construction is more thoughtful than the typical acne cleanser tries.

Verso Skincare

Verso Skincare Deep Cleanse Review

Gentle BHA Daily Cleanser
cleanser gel clinical Paraben Free Fungal Acne Safe Cruelty Free Vegan

A genuinely well-built BHA gel cleanser — salicylic acid plus niacinamide plus turmeric and purslane on a sulfate-free, fragrance-free surfactant base. Gentle enough for daily use on breakout-prone sensitive skin, more thoughtfully constructed than the average drugstore acne wash, and free of the perfume load that runs through the rest of the Verso lineup. The $44 sticker is the only meaningful drag.

$44.00
150 mL / 5.0 fl oz
4.4 ★★★★★
800 reviews
Made in Sweden Launched 2014 All-year use PAO: 12 months
Buy at Amazon ♥
Verdicts

How well it fits each concern

Verdict by concern tap a concern for the case

Good choicefor AcneSalicylic Acid is an approved or monograph active for acne; this rinse-off gel carries it — short contact still counts for this active, but a leave-on does more.Moderate evidenceGentle26 reviews collected

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid is a first-line active — approved, monograph-listed or named in current guidelines — for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 9,564 of 45,024 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R2r decided 408 of them. Unchanged since September 5, 2026, engine 5.1.1.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

Show the work
Rule
R2r — Rinse-off exceptions (BPO wash, salicylic acid cleanser) deliver a real but smaller effect than the leave-on form; they cap at 'good choice'. Medicated shampoos for scalp concerns are exempt — the shampoo is the treatment form. Editorial decision 2 Sep 2026, pending advisory review. · the full register
Carrying active
Salicylic Acid
Standing
first line — a regulator recognises it for this use; trials support it · per § 333.310 Acne active ingredients. (U.S. Food and Drug Administration — 21 CFR Part 333 Subpart D (Topical Acne Drug Products), Code of Federal Regulations via GovInfo), opened July 27, 2026
Form
plausible — studied range 0.5–2%, from the OTC monograph or label; judge it after ~6 weeks
Tolerability
gentle
Row checked
against its sources on July 27, 2026 (evidence table ev-2026.09-r228)

The studies behind the evidence row

All acne products →
Good choicefor BlackheadsSalicylic Acid is an approved or monograph active for blackheads; this rinse-off gel carries it — short contact still counts for this active, but a leave-on does more.Moderate evidenceGentle26 reviews collected

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid is a first-line active — approved, monograph-listed or named in current guidelines — for this concern.
  2. It is plausibly present at a working level, though the concentration is not declared.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

What would change this: A declared concentration would move this to a firmer reading of the dose.

Same rule for everyone. “Good choice” is the verdict on 9,564 of 45,024 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R2r decided 408 of them. Unchanged since September 5, 2026, engine 5.1.1.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

Show the work
Rule
R2r — Rinse-off exceptions (BPO wash, salicylic acid cleanser) deliver a real but smaller effect than the leave-on form; they cap at 'good choice'. Medicated shampoos for scalp concerns are exempt — the shampoo is the treatment form. Editorial decision 2 Sep 2026, pending advisory review. · the full register
Carrying active
Salicylic Acid
Standing
first line — a regulator recognises it for this use; trials support it · per 21 CFR § 333.350 - Labeling of acne drug products. (US Code of Federal Regulations (Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law School)), opened July 27, 2026
Form
plausible — studied range 0.5–2%, from the OTC monograph or label; judge it after ~6 weeks
Tolerability
gentle
Row checked
against its sources on July 27, 2026 (evidence table ev-2026.09-r228)

The studies behind the evidence row

All blackheads products →
Supporting rolefor Excess OilinessRinse-off gel: Salicylic Acid gets seconds of contact, so this supports a routine for excess oiliness rather than treating it.Moderate evidenceGentle26 reviews collected

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is in a rinse-off product, so it gets seconds of contact rather than the leave-on exposure the evidence assumes.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

What would change this: The same active in a leave-on form would be judged on its evidence rather than its contact time.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 8,197 of 45,024 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R6 decided 2,017 of them. Unchanged since September 5, 2026, engine 5.1.1.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

Show the work
Rule
R6 — Contact time cannot deliver a leave-on claim; the product is judged on its job (cleansing without aggravating). Explicit exceptions (BPO wash, SA cleanser, medicated shampoos) never reach this rule because their rows set rinse_off_ok. · the full register
Carrying active
Salicylic Acid
Standing
plausible — trials support it
Form
contact limited — studied range 30%, from the trials on the row; needs leave-on contact; judge it after ~6 weeks
Tolerability
gentle
Row checked
against its sources on July 17, 2026 (evidence table ev-2026.09-r228)

The studies behind the evidence row

All excess oiliness products →
Supporting rolefor Large PoresRinse-off gel: Niacinamide gets seconds of contact, so this supports a routine for large pores rather than treating it.Moderate evidenceGentle26 reviews collected

The case for it

  1. Niacinamide has early or mechanistic evidence for this concern, not trial-backed standing.
  2. It is in a rinse-off product, so it gets seconds of contact rather than the leave-on exposure the evidence assumes.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

What would change this: The same active in a leave-on form would be judged on its evidence rather than its contact time.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 8,197 of 45,024 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R6 decided 2,017 of them. Unchanged since September 5, 2026, engine 5.1.1.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

Show the work
Rule
R6 — Contact time cannot deliver a leave-on claim; the product is judged on its job (cleansing without aggravating). Explicit exceptions (BPO wash, SA cleanser, medicated shampoos) never reach this rule because their rows set rinse_off_ok. · the full register
Carrying active
Niacinamide
Standing
plausible — trials support it
Form
contact limited — studied range 4%, from the trials on the row; needs leave-on contact; judge it after ~8 weeks
Tolerability
gentle
Row checked
against its sources on July 17, 2026 (evidence table ev-2026.09-r228)
All large pores products →
Supporting rolefor Fungal AcneRinse-off gel: Salicylic Acid gets seconds of contact, so this supports a routine for fungal acne rather than treating it.Not yet assessedGentle26 reviews collected

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid has been researched for this concern and the evidence does not support it.
  2. It is in a rinse-off product, so it gets seconds of contact rather than the leave-on exposure the evidence assumes.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

What would change this: The same active in a leave-on form would be judged on its evidence rather than its contact time.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 8,197 of 45,024 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R6 decided 2,017 of them. Unchanged since September 5, 2026, engine 5.1.1.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

Show the work
Rule
R6 — Contact time cannot deliver a leave-on claim; the product is judged on its job (cleansing without aggravating). Explicit exceptions (BPO wash, SA cleanser, medicated shampoos) never reach this rule because their rows set rinse_off_ok. · the full register
Carrying active
Salicylic Acid
Standing
none
Form
contact limited — studied range 0.5–2%, from the OTC monograph or label; needs leave-on contact; judge it after ~6 weeks
Tolerability
gentle

The studies behind the evidence row

  • No admissible trial located — standard of care for Malassezia folliculitis is azole antifungal therapy (context note, not a treatment citation) — reviewer note
All fungal acne products →
Supporting rolefor Rough TextureRinse-off gel: Salicylic Acid gets seconds of contact, so this supports a routine for rough texture rather than treating it.Moderate evidenceGentle26 reviews collected

The case for it

  1. Salicylic Acid has trial-supported standing for this concern.
  2. It is in a rinse-off product, so it gets seconds of contact rather than the leave-on exposure the evidence assumes.
  3. The formula carries none of the triggers this concern is sensitive to.

What would change this: The same active in a leave-on form would be judged on its evidence rather than its contact time.

Same rule for everyone. “Supporting role” is the verdict on 8,197 of 45,024 concern verdicts across the catalog; rule R6 decided 2,017 of them. Unchanged since September 5, 2026, engine 5.1.1.

Brand or formulator? Disclose a concentration or correct a fact →

Show the work
Rule
R6 — Contact time cannot deliver a leave-on claim; the product is judged on its job (cleansing without aggravating). Explicit exceptions (BPO wash, SA cleanser, medicated shampoos) never reach this rule because their rows set rinse_off_ok. · the full register
Carrying active
Salicylic Acid
Standing
supported — its mechanism is established
Form
contact limited — studied range 0.5–2%, from the trials on the row; needs leave-on contact; judge it after ~6 weeks
Tolerability
gentle
Row checked
against its sources on July 17, 2026 (evidence table ev-2026.09-r228)

The studies behind the evidence row

  • International Cosmetic Ingredient Dictionary and Handbook — declared function — Personal Care Products Council
  • United States Pharmacopeia / National Formulary — excipient monograph — USP-NF
All rough texture products →

Does the jobDoes what a cleanser is for: puts something back, surfactant mildness. Not measured from the label: pH match to skin.

A verdict is DermApproved’s assessment of how well a product’s ingredients fit a concern — never a claim about what the product treats. Evidence dots and collected reviews sit beside it and are never blended in. Rules 0.5.1 · evidence table ev-2026.09-r228 · how we decide

Assessment

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • ✓ Five-active stack — salicylic acid plus niacinamide plus turmeric plus purslane plus zinc PCA
  • ✓ Sulfate-free surfactant base rinses without stripping the barrier
  • ✓ Genuinely fragrance-free with no essential oils or masking perfume
  • ✓ Gentle enough for twice-daily use on breakout-prone sensitive skin
  • ✓ Vegan formulation with no animal-derived ingredients
  • ✓ Pregnancy-compatible at typical wash-off contact times
  • ✓ Stable formulation across more than a decade of distribution

Cons

  • ✗ $44 for 150 mL puts it well above drugstore BHA cleanser alternatives
  • ✗ Salicylic acid concentration is not disclosed on packaging or product page
  • ✗ Clear plastic bottle requires storage away from direct light
  • ✗ Too drying for genuinely dry skin types as a twice-daily cleanser
Review

Full Review

Most BHA cleansers at the boutique price tier follow the same playbook. Lead the marketing with the salicylic acid concentration, layer in a generic surfactant base and trust the active to do its own work. The Deep Cleanse breaks pattern in a small but meaningful way: it treats the salicylic acid as one component in a broader anti-inflammatory and sebum-regulating system rather than as the sole star. That construction is the most interesting thing about the formula, and it is the reason the cleanser can be run twice daily on sensitive breakout-prone skin without producing the rebound oil and irritation cycle that aggressive BHA washes often trigger.

The active stack reads cleanly. Salicylic acid in slot seven provides the lipid-soluble exfoliation that AHAs cannot reach effectively in the pore environment — the right molecule for the job in a daily-use cleanser. Above it sits niacinamide in slot eight at a meaningful position, doing barrier support and sebum regulation work that the salicylic acid alone would not address. Curcuma longa root extract contributes documented anti-inflammatory and mild antimicrobial activity. Portulaca oleracea — purslane — adds another layer of calming and antioxidant support. Zinc PCA in slot fourteen brings secondary sebum control and mild antibacterial activity. The five-active stack is more than the typical acne cleanser builds, and each component has documented evidence behind it.

The surfactant base is the second piece worth noticing. The cleanser uses sodium lauroyl sarcosinate as the primary surfactant, supported by cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine and sodium cocoamphoacetate — a mild, sulfate-free combination that produces a low-volume lather and rinses cleanly without stripping the barrier. The contrast with traditional acne cleansers built on sulfates is meaningful; this one washes the face without producing the squeaky-clean tightness that signals barrier disruption, and the post-wash feel sits genuinely between clean and conditioned rather than between clean and stripped.

The formulation also reads short. Seventeen ingredients total, no added fragrance, no essential oils, no masking perfume, no alcohol, no parabens, no silicones — a deliberately minimalist construction that stands out across the rest of the Verso lineup, where parfum sits on most product labels. The absence of fragrance is particularly valuable here because the buyers most attracted to a BHA cleanser are often dealing with active breakouts, post-inflammatory redness or compromised barrier function, and the fragrance load that complicates the rest of the brand's products would have been a meaningful liability in this category. Verso made the right call.

The texture is unremarkable in a useful way. A clear gel that pumps as a single bead, breaks into a soft low-volume lather when worked between wet hands, spreads across the face with no drag and rinses cleanly in lukewarm water. Contact time should be sixty to ninety seconds — extended washing does not increase BHA efficacy in a wash-off format and only dries sensitive skin unnecessarily. Pair with a hydrating toner immediately after, because even oil-control routines need the surface hydration that prevents the rebound oil cycle.

The obvious objection to any BHA cleanser is that a minute in contact with the skin cannot do anything. The honest answer sits between the extremes. A wash-off BHA will not match the pore-clearing depth of a leave-on toner or serum — the contact time genuinely is too short for that. But real surface and pore-mouth exfoliation does occur, and the cumulative effect of daily exposure is well-documented. The correct frame is a maintenance layer that shapes the conditions your leave-on treatments work on, not a replacement for them. Which is also why stacking this with a leave-on BHA serum on the same day is a bad idea until tolerance is well established.

Results track that framing. The first wash simply feels clean. By the end of the first fortnight the pores around the nose and forehead look clearer and the T-zone runs less oily through the day. The real payoff — a lower baseline of breakouts — takes six to eight weeks, and only if the rest of the routine cooperates rather than piling on more exfoliation.

The friction points are honest and limited. The first and biggest is the price. Forty-four dollars for 150 mL puts the cleanser well above the drugstore BHA washes that run fifteen to twenty-five dollars for similar volumes. The chemistry inside justifies some of the difference — five active ingredients, sulfate-free surfactants, fragrance-free formulation — but the gap will be hard to justify for buyers without a specific reason to choose this one. A bottle does last three to four months at a pump per wash, which softens the monthly arithmetic to something like ten to fifteen dollars.

The second friction point is the undisclosed salicylic acid concentration. The slot-seven position suggests a meaningful level, but transparency-minded buyers prefer to see a number on the label, and a brand positioned on clinical credibility ought to provide one. The third is the clear plastic bottle, which is unusual for a salicylic acid formulation — store it away from direct light, though the wash-off context mitigates the photostability concern considerably. And genuinely dry skin will find twice-daily use too much; once a day, or every other day, is the sensible on-ramp.

Where the cleanser earns its place is in the small intersection of buyers who want a serious BHA daily cleanser, have sensitive but breakout-prone skin that has reacted to drugstore acne washes, value fragrance-free formulation, and can absorb the boutique price tier. For that user, Deep Cleanse genuinely delivers — a well-built five-active formula with a tolerability infrastructure that lets the BHA run without the irritation cycle that limits aggressive acne washes. It's also vegan, fungal-acne-safe, and fine in pregnancy, which quietly removes several of the usual objections. For everyone else, the drugstore alternatives at half the price will do most of the same work, and the Verso premium pays for the formulation thoughtfulness rather than a dramatically different outcome in the mirror.

Formula

Key Ingredients

The hero actives that drive this product's performance.

IngredientFunctionEvidence
Salicylic Acid (BHA) The functional exfoliant in the cleanser, working in the lipid pore environment where AHAs cannot reach effectively. In a wash-off format like this one, the contact time is short — sixty to ninety seconds at most — so the salicylic acid is doing partial pore-clearing work rather than a full BHA peel. Best understood as a daily preventive layer for breakout-prone skin rather than a treatment-strength exfoliation, which would call for a leave-on BHA toner or serum. Established mechanism for Rough Texture · established mechanism
Niacinamide Sits in slot eight at a meaningful level for a cleanser and contributes barrier-supporting and sebum-regulating activity during the wash. Pairs with the salicylic acid above it as the calming-and-balancing half of the formula — niacinamide reduces the inflammation that BHA exfoliation can trigger and dampens the rebound oil response some breakout-prone skin shows after washing. Limited for Acne
Curcuma Longa Root Extract (Turmeric) The same turmeric extract that anchors the brand's retinoid products, repeated here in a cleanser context. Contributes documented anti-inflammatory and mild antimicrobial activity that supports the broader acne-control intent of the formula. Wash-off contact time limits its impact but the inclusion is consistent with Verso's broader formulation philosophy of layering supportive botanicals around the headline active. Not yet assessed
Purslane (Portulaca Oleracea) Extract A traditional Asian botanical with documented anti-inflammatory and antioxidant activity at cosmetic concentrations. In this cleanser its role is to take the edge off the salicylic acid exfoliation and complement the niacinamide soothing work, keeping the formula tolerable for daily use on breakout-prone skin that might otherwise react to a BHA cleanser used twice a day. Not yet assessed
Zinc PCA A zinc-amino-acid complex with documented sebum-regulating and antibacterial activity at the small concentrations typical in cleansers. Works alongside the niacinamide as the secondary oil-control axis of the formula — the combination is more effective than either alone for breakout-prone skin where excess sebum is part of the trigger pattern. Limited for Acne
Full INCI List

Aqua, Acrylates/Beheneth-25 Methacrylate Copolymer, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Sodium Cocoamphoacetate, Salicylic Acid, Niacinamide, Curcuma Longa Root Extract, Portulaca Oleracea Extract, Sodium Chloride, Sodium Hydroxide, Tetrasodium EDTA, Zinc PCA, Sodium Benzoate, Citric Acid, Phenoxyethanol

Safety & Formulation Facts
✓ Pregnancy Safe ✓ Fragrance Free✓ Alcohol Free✓ Oil Free✓ Silicone Free✓ Paraben Free✓ Sulfate Free✓ Cruelty Free✓ Vegan✓ Fungal Acne Safe
Potential Irritants
Salicylic Acid (mild BHA at wash-off contact time)
Compatibility

Skin Match

Works For
Not Ideal For
Routine Step

cleanser

Time of Day

AM & PM

Layering Tips

Use once or twice daily as the water-cleansing step of the routine. For breakout-prone skin, twice daily is appropriate; for combination skin, AM-only with a non-BHA cleanser at PM is gentler. Massage onto damp skin for sixty to ninety seconds, then rinse with lukewarm water — extended contact does not increase BHA efficacy in a wash-off format and may dry sensitive skin unnecessarily. Pair with a hydrating toner or essence afterward; even an oil-control routine needs the surface hydration that prevents the rebound oil cycle. Avoid stacking with a leave-on BHA serum on the same day unless tolerance is well established.

Results Timeline

First wash: a clean, slightly tight feeling that softens as the niacinamide and purslane do their soothing work. Short-term (1-2 weeks): visibly clearer pores around the nose and forehead, less surface oil through the day, reduced inflammation around active breakouts. Full benefit (6-8 weeks): a more consistent baseline of fewer breakouts, smaller-looking pores and a noticeably less oily T-zone — provided the rest of the routine cooperates and does not overwhelm the skin with additional exfoliation.

Pairs Well With
Hydrating toner (after rinsing)Niacinamide serum (after rinsing)Leave-on BHA or AHA serum (alternate days if used)Oil-free moisturizer or gel-cream (PM)
Planning a combo? Check it against what you already use
Conflicts With
Other BHA cleansers in the same routineStrong AHA cleansers in the same routine
See where it fits — layering order & night-splitting
Sample AM Routine
  1. Verso Skincare Deep Cleanse
  2. Hydrating toner
  3. Niacinamide serum
  4. Oil-free moisturizer
  5. Broad-spectrum SPF 30+
Sample PM Routine
  1. Oil cleanser (if wearing makeup or SPF)
  2. THIS PRODUCT (or gentle non-BHA cleanser if AM was BHA)
  3. Hydrating toner
  4. Treatment serum (BHA, retinoid, etc.)
  5. Oil-free moisturizer or gel-cream
Evidence

Science & Expert Perspective

The Science

Salicylic acid is the most thoroughly studied beta hydroxy acid in dermatology. The molecule is lipid-soluble, which allows it to penetrate into the sebaceous environment of pores where alpha hydroxy acids cannot reach effectively. In leave-on formulations at 1 to 2 percent, salicylic acid produces measurable improvements in acne, blackhead formation and pore congestion across twelve-week treatment periods. In wash-off cleansers, the contact time of sixty to ninety seconds limits the depth of activity but produces meaningful surface and pore-mouth exfoliation that contributes cumulatively to acne management when paired with an appropriate leave-on routine.

Niacinamide is among the most thoroughly studied brightening and barrier-supporting actives, with documented improvements in sebum regulation, melanosome transfer inhibition and barrier function at cosmetic concentrations. Its inclusion in a cleanser context is less commonly studied than in leave-on formats, but mechanistically the contact time is sufficient for some barrier-supportive effect and the molecule does not strip during the wash.

Curcuma longa root extract contributes a broad spectrum of curcuminoids with documented anti-inflammatory, antioxidant and mild antimicrobial activity in cosmetic concentrations. Portulaca oleracea (purslane) extract has demonstrated anti-inflammatory and antioxidant activity in in-vitro and clinical work, with particular relevance for inflamed and breakout-prone skin. Zinc PCA is a zinc-amino-acid complex with documented sebum-regulating and antibacterial activity at the small concentrations typical in cleansers.

The surfactant base — sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, cocamidopropyl hydroxysultaine and sodium cocoamphoacetate — is a sulfate-free combination with well-documented mild cleansing performance and a low irritation profile relative to traditional SLS or SLES-based cleansers. The absence of fragrance, essential oils and alcohol is the formulation choice that makes the cleanser usable on sensitive breakout-prone skin where most acne washes fail tolerance.

Dermatologist Perspective

Wash-off BHA cleansers are widely recommended in clinical practice for breakout-prone, oily and combination skin profiles. Dermatologists familiar with the Verso platform tend to position Deep Cleanse as a useful daily maintenance cleanser for patients who want gentle salicylic acid exfoliation without the harshness of traditional acne washes. The fragrance-free, sulfate-free construction is particularly valued for patients with sensitive breakout-prone skin or with rosacea-overlap presentations where standard acne products fail tolerance. The combination of salicylic acid with niacinamide and zinc PCA is well regarded for sebum-regulation work, and the absence of retinoid content makes the cleanser appropriate during pregnancy at typical wash-off contact times. For patients on a separate leave-on BHA or retinoid, clinicians often recommend alternating with a gentler non-BHA cleanser at the opposite end of the day to prevent overstimulation; this cleanser is also a reasonable solo BHA layer for patients not running leave-on chemical exfoliation.

Guidance

Usage & Recommendations

How to Use

Use once or twice daily as the water-cleansing step of the routine. Take one pump of the cleanser onto wet fingertips, work it into a soft lather and massage onto damp skin for sixty to ninety seconds — extended contact does not increase BHA efficacy in a wash-off format. Rinse with lukewarm water and pat dry. Follow immediately with a hydrating toner to restore surface hydration. For breakout-prone skin, twice-daily use is appropriate; for combination skin, AM-only with a non-BHA cleanser at PM is gentler; for dry skin or anyone introducing BHA, start with three to four times per week and ramp from there based on tolerance. Avoid stacking with a leave-on BHA serum on the same day unless tolerance is well established.

Value Assessment

At $44 for 150 mL, Deep Cleanse sits in the middle of the boutique cleanser price tier — well above drugstore BHA cleansers from CeraVe, La Roche-Posay or Paula's Choice at $15 to $25 for similar volumes, and below the luxury cleanser tier where prices commonly exceed $60 to $80. The per-month cost at twice-daily use works out to around $10 to $15, which is competitive for the formulation chemistry inside. The five-active stack, the sulfate-free surfactant base and the genuinely fragrance-free construction represent real formulation cost that drugstore alternatives do not provide. The value calculation comes down to use case: buyers who have failed drugstore BHA cleansers on tolerance grounds, who specifically want fragrance-free, or who are already in the Verso ecosystem find this cleanser worth its premium. Buyers who tolerate drugstore options well will get most of the same work done at half the price, with the Verso premium paying for thoughtfulness rather than dramatic visible difference.

Who Should Buy

Reach for this cleanser if you have oily, combination or breakout-prone skin that has failed drugstore acne cleansers on tolerance grounds, want a genuinely fragrance-free BHA daily wash, value formulation thoughtfulness over absolute price, and can absorb the boutique price tier. It particularly suits people with sensitive-acne overlap presentations where most acne washes overshoot tolerance.

Who Should Skip

Genuinely dry skin types should pass — even a gentle BHA cleanser used twice daily can dry that profile out. Buyers who tolerate drugstore BHA cleansers well and are happy with their results have no real reason to upgrade — the marginal benefit over a well-formulated $20 alternative does not justify the premium for them. Active rosacea, eczema or perioral dermatitis should consult a dermatologist before introducing any BHA cleanser. Post-procedure skin should wait until the recovery window closes before adding chemical exfoliation back to the routine.

Details

Product Details

Texture

A clear, lightly viscous gel that pumps as a single bead and breaks into a soft, low-volume lather when worked between wet hands. It spreads across the face with no drag and rinses cleanly in lukewarm water without leaving a tight or filmed-over feeling, even on twice-daily use.

Scent

Genuinely fragrance-free — a soft, faintly herbal note from the turmeric extract is the only scent contribution, and it fades within a minute. No added perfume, no essential oils.

Packaging

A 150 mL clear plastic bottle with a precision pump. The clear bottle is unusual for a salicylic acid formulation and means the cleanser is best stored away from direct light, though the wash-off context and the relatively short contact time of the BHA with the skin mitigate the photostability concern.

Finish
non-greasylightweight
What to Expect on First Use

First wash lands on the soft, low-volume lather and the gentle herbal scent from the turmeric. There is no tingle, no warming, no immediate redness — the cleanser is genuinely calibrated for daily use on breakout-prone skin rather than a treatment-strength wash. Most users report a cleaner, less oily T-zone within the first three days and a visible reduction in surface congestion around the nose and forehead within the first two weeks.

How Long It Lasts

About 3 to 4 months applied morning and evening face cleansing, taken at one pump per wash

Period After Opening

12 months

Opened yours? Track the toss-by date
Best Season

All Year

Background

The Story Behind This Product

Deep Cleanse entered the Verso lineup at brand launch in 2013 as the cleansing counterpart to the brand's retinoid platform. The formulation was designed around the principle that a daily cleanser for acne-prone skin needs to do gentle exfoliation without disrupting the barrier, since aggressive BHA washes often produce the rebound oiliness and irritation cycle they were meant to prevent. The cleanser has held its position in the brand's lineup across more than a decade with the same core formula.

About Verso Skincare Established Brand (5–20 years)

Verso Skincare is the Stockholm-based brand built around the Korean-developed retinyl retinoate molecule it licenses as Retinol 8. Founded in 2013 by Lars Fredriksson, the brand has been carried through Sephora Europe, Liberty London, Net-a-Porter, Dermstore and Cult Beauty across more than a decade. The cleanser is part of the founding lineup.

Brand founded: 2013 · Product launched: 2014
Myth vs. Reality

Common Myths

Myth

A wash-off BHA does nothing because the contact time is too short.

Reality

The truth sits between the two extremes. A wash-off BHA cannot match the pore-clearing depth of a leave-on toner or serum — the sixty to ninety seconds of skin contact is genuinely insufficient for full peel-strength activity. But measurable surface and pore-mouth exfoliation does occur at typical use concentrations, and the cumulative effect of daily wash-off BHA exposure is well-documented in clinical literature. The right frame is a maintenance and preventive layer that pairs with a leave-on routine, not a stand-alone treatment replacement.

Myth

Cleansers cannot really treat acne — only leave-on products matter.

Reality

Leave-on products do the heaviest lifting in acne treatment, but cleansers shape the surface conditions those treatments work on. A pH-balanced, mildly exfoliating cleanser like this one removes surface oil, dead skin and the makeup-and-sunscreen residue that contribute to pore congestion. Skipping the right cleanser and trusting the serum alone usually produces worse results than a balanced cleanser-plus-treatment combination, particularly on combination and oily skin.

FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

What concentration of salicylic acid is in the Verso Deep Cleanse?

Verso does not publicly disclose the salicylic acid concentration, but the position in slot seven of the ingredient list suggests a meaningful but moderate level — typical for wash-off BHA cleansers, where higher concentrations are unnecessary because of the short contact time. The cleanser is calibrated for daily use, not for treatment-strength activity.

Is the Verso Deep Cleanse fragrance-free?

Yes — there is no added parfum, no essential oils and no masking fragrance on the ingredient list. The faint herbal scent some users notice comes from the turmeric extract and fades within a minute of rinsing. This makes the cleanser a usable option for fragrance-reactive breakout-prone skin, which is unusual in the BHA cleanser category.

Can the Verso Deep Cleanse be used during pregnancy?

Most clinicians consider wash-off BHA cleansers compatible with pregnancy at typical use concentrations — the systemic absorption from a sixty-second contact wash is negligible. That said, official guidance varies, and anyone pregnant or breastfeeding should confirm with their obstetrician. The cleanser contains no retinoids and is safer on this dimension than several of Verso's other products.

How often should I use the Verso Deep Cleanse?

For breakout-prone or oily skin, twice daily is appropriate. For combination skin, AM-only is often gentler with a non-BHA cleanser at PM. Drier skin or anyone introducing BHA for the first time should start with three to four times per week and ramp from there based on response. Twice daily on dry skin can dry it out, so pay attention to the cleanser's effect across the first two weeks and pull back if tightness develops.

Can the Verso Deep Cleanse be layered with a separate BHA serum?

Yes, but with care. The combined BHA load can overshoot tolerance for some users, particularly those new to chemical exfoliation. The safer approach is to alternate — Deep Cleanse on days the leave-on BHA is not used, or AM with Deep Cleanse and PM with a leave-on BHA after a different cleanser. Established BHA users with good tolerance can run both daily without issue.

Is the Verso Deep Cleanse vegan and cruelty-free?

Yes to both. The ingredient list contains no animal-derived ingredients — the surfactant blend, the salicylic acid, the niacinamide, the turmeric, the purslane and the zinc PCA are all plant or mineral-sourced. Verso is sold across the EU and certifies its products as cruelty-free under the standard EU cosmetic regulation.

Reviews

What Reviewers Tend to Say

Recurring themes our editors read across retailer reviews of this product — summaries in our words, not quotations, and not a substitute for your own patch test.

Common Praise

Genuinely gentle for a BHA cleanser despite the active load

Effective at reducing surface oil and improving pore appearance

Fragrance-free formulation that suits sensitive but oily skin

Mild lather that does not strip the barrier on twice-daily use

Common Complaints

$44 retail for 150 mL puts it well above drugstore BHA cleansers

Salicylic acid concentration is not disclosed on packaging

Pump can dispense more product than is needed

Too dry for genuinely dry skin types as a daily cleanser

Notable Endorsements
Featured in Allure, Byrdie and Dermstore's gentle acne cleanser roundupsCarried by Sephora Europe, Liberty London, Dermstore, Cult Beauty and Powder Beauty since launch